Pembroke, NC

School Details

In 1887, Croatan Normal School was established after legislation was enacted by the General Assembly of North Carolina to establish a Board of Trustees and appropriate $500 for a school to train American Indian teachers. In 1933, two-year college (junior college) coursework was added. After baccalaureate degrees were added in 1940, the Board approved the admission of white students up to 40 percent of the total enrollment in 1953. Today, the college is known as University of North Carolina at Pembroke, accepts students from all backgrounds, and is classified as North Carolina's Historically American Indian University.

UNC Pembroke offers a wide array of bachelor’s and master’s degrees, fantastic Pembroke faculty, and a diverse community of cultures, ideas and organizations. Programs are housed in the following schools and colleges:

  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • School of Education
  • School of Business
  • Graduate School
  • Esther G. Maynor Honors College

Accreditation & Licensing

University of North Carolina at Pembroke is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Check Program Availability