Richmond, VA

School Details

Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU), located on a 143-acre urban campus in Richmond, Virginia, is a public research institution that was established in 1838. VCU was originally established as Hampton-Sydney College’s medical department, and in 1854 it became the Medical College of Virginia. The Medical College of Virginia merged with the Richmond Professional Institute to form VCU in 1968. VCU has two campus locations in Richmond, which are the Monroe Park campus, and the MCV campus. VCU is committed to the academic and intellectual success of its student body, discovery and research, and increases knowledge, enhances creativity, and the improvement of human health.

VCU offers bachelor's, master's, doctoral and first-professional degree and certificate programs from the following schools and colleges:

  • College of Humanities and Sciences
  • School of Allied Health Professions
  • School of Arts
  • School of Business
  • School of Dentistry
  • School of Education
  • School of Engineering
  • Honors College
  • L. Douglas Wilder School of Government and Public Affairs
  • Richard T. Robertson School of Media and Culture
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Pharmacy
  • School of Social Work
  • School of World Studies
  • Graduate School
  • University College

Accreditation & Licensing

Virginia Commonwealth University is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Check Program Availability