Storrs, CT

School Details

The University of Connecticut (UConn) is a land-grant, 4-year, public research university that was founded in 1881 and is located in Storrs, Connecticut. The University of Connecticut is a Public Ivy, which means that though it is publicly-funded, it offers the same caliber of education as an Ivy League university. It is a land and sea grant university and is part of the Space Grant Consortium. Part of the University of Connecticut’s mission statement is: “…As Connecticut’s public research university, through freedom of academic inquiry and expression, we create and disseminate knowledge by means of scholarly and creative achievements, graduate and professional education, and outreach. Through our focus on teaching and learning, the University helps every student grow intellectually and become a contributing member of the state, national, and world communities…”.

UConn offers associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from the following colleges and schools:

  • College of Agriculture, Health and Natural Resources
  • School of Business 
  • School of Dental Medicine
  • School of Engineering
  • School of Fine Arts
  • Graduate School 
  • School of Law
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • School of Medicine
  • Neag School of Education
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Pharmacy
  • Ratcliffe Hicks School of Agriculture
  • School of Social Work

In addition to traditional academic programs, students at UConn can take advantage of online degree and certificate programs.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Connecticut is accredited by:

New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

Check Program Availability