Radford, VA

School Details

Radford University is a public four-year institution located in Radford, Virginia. Radford is one of Virginia’s eight doctoral-degree granting public universities. Since its establishment in 1910, Radford has grown tremendously. Radford was originally founded as a women’s college that only offered a two-year degree in rural arts. In 1943, the college merged with neighboring Virginia Tech and was Women’s Division of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute. Then, in the 1960s, Virginia Tech began to accept women to their school. This led to a separation from Virginia Tech in 1964. The institution was renamed Radford College. In 1979, Radford was renamed as a university. Today, the institution offers a comprehensive curriculum that ranges up to around undergraduate 100 fields, many graduate programs, and specialized doctorate programs in health-related professions.

RU offers a full range of undergraduate and graduate degrees and certificates from the following colleges:

  • College of Business and Economics
  • College of Education and Human Development
  • Waldron College of Health and Human Services
  • College of Humanities and Behavioral Sciences
  • College of Science and Technology
  • College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • College of Graduate Studies and Research

Accreditation & Licensing

Radford University is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Check Program Availability