Saint Joseph, MO

School Details

Missouri Western State University is a four-year, public institution of higher education, located in the city of Saint Joseph, Missouri. The school was founded in 1915 as St. Joseph Junior College and the school became a four-year college in 1969. In 1977, Missouri Western became a full member of the State of Missouri system and in 2005; the school’s name was changed to Missouri Western State University after it received university status.

Missouri Western State University offers certificates, associate’s degrees, bachelor’s degrees, and master’s degrees from the following schools and colleges:

  • Craig School of Business
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • College of Professional Studies
  • School of Nursing & Health Professions
  • School of Fine Arts
  • Graduate School

Missouri Western offers more than 250 online courses for both undergraduate and graduate students. Several undergraduate and graduate degrees can be earned online through the Western Institute.

Accreditation & Licensing

Missouri Western State University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability