Joliet, IL

School Details

The University of St. Francis was established in 1920 by the Congregation of the Third Order of St. Francis of Mary Immaculate for the education of its own members. In 1925, under the title Assisi Junior College, its doors opened to women. The Board of Trustees voted in 1997 to move to university status, and the institution became the University of St. Francis the next year. Its stated mission is to be “a welcoming community of learners challenged by Franciscan values and charism, engaged in a continuous pursuit of knowledge, faith, wisdom, and justice, and ever mindful of a tradition that emphasizes reverence for creation, compassion and peacemaking.”

USF offers bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees from the following colleges:

  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • College of Business & Health Administration
  • College of Education
  • Leach College of Nursing

Accreditation & Licensing

University of St Francis is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability