Master of Science in Nursing / Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
The University of Texas at Arlington

Program Details

The online MSN degree specialty for Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioners prepares nurses for advanced practice helping children and their families with physical, social, and emotional development needs.

This Nurse Practitioner program online focuses on the care of children from birth through age 21. Graduates have the ability to provide leadership in developing primary healthcare services for children from preventative care to disease treatment. The curriculum covers the role of the nurse in advanced practice, advanced health assessment, primary complex chronicity, and pediatric primary care clinical practice, as well as a practicum experience.

In addition to clinical skills, pediatric nursing students learn about the soft skills necessary for this profession, such as:

  • Communication
  • Education
  • Compassion
  • Sensitivity

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The University of Texas at Arlington is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

GRE, Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s)

Additional Info

  • GRE not required for students with GPA 3.0 or higher
  • Must have a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from an ACEN or CCNE accredited program, including undergraduate statistics course with minimum C grade
  • Unencumbered RN license and two years clinical RN experience required

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories