Master of Science in Nursing / Nurse Practitioner – Primary Care
The University of Alabama

Program Details

The online MSN Nurse Practitioner programs from The University of Alabama focus on improving health and wellness disparities in the rural southeastern United States. A concentration in Primary Care allows the student to prepare for the Family Nurse Practitioner national certification examination.

Students learn how to fill a critical healthcare need in this online Nurse Practitioner degree program. Courses explore health promotion and disease prevention, as well as diagnosing common acute and chronic illnesses. The online coursework is combined with face-to-face clinical experiences to allow nurses to continue their careers while earning their degree.

Some of the topics studied in the Primary Care concentration include:

  • Population health
  • Health policy and finance
  • Family nurse practitioner role and issues
  • Informatics in healthcare

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The University of Alabama is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s)

Additional Info

  • Must have a bachelor's degree in nursing from a regionally accredited school
  • Must have a current, unencumbered RN license in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, or Mississippi

Restricted States

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories