Master of Science in Management and Leadership
Western Governors University

Program Details

To help more professionals gain the necessary acumen to be a talented leader, WGU created its Master of Science in Management and Leadership degree program. WGU’s M.S. Management and Leadership program is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP)—a leading specialized accreditation association for business education. Designed with input from industry experts, this program includes courses on business acumen, management, strategy, and leadership. Graduates will be prepared to fill management roles including president, vice president, branch chief, director of operations, or executive director.

Online programs allow for unparalleled flexibility, so students can complete coursework whenever and wherever works best for their schedule. Students also benefit from WGU's competency-based learning model, which makes it possible for them to potentially graduate faster by completing courses as quickly as they can prove mastery of the required material. Additionally, Faculty Mentors work one-on-one with WGU students, providing dedicated coaching, guidance, and support from enrollment through graduation.

*WGU cannot currently accept applicants who are residents of California. 


This program consists of 11 total courses.

Admission requirements:

  • Transcript(s) verifying receipt of your bachelor’s degree from a recognized, accredited institution
  • A resume demonstrating at least three years of significant experience in business, industry, or at a nonprofit organization

Special Accreditation

Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP)

School Accreditation Statement

Western Governors University is the only university to have received simultaneous accreditation by four regional accrediting commissions. Currently, WGU's "home" accrediting commission is the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, the same organization that accredits such leading institutions as the University of Washington, University of Oregon, University of Utah, Brigham Young University, and other public and private colleges.

Restricted States