Master of Science in Nursing / Nursing Informatics (RN to MSN)
Western Governors University

Program Details

WGU’s online Master of Science in Nursing–Nursing Informatics (MSNUNI) degree program prepares nurses who hold a current RN to lead innovation and improve patient outcomes through careful analysis of healthcare data. Designed in collaboration with healthcare’s foremost leaders, the MSNUNI program focuses on nursing theory and practice, foundations of nursing informatics, data science and analytics, data modeling, and informatics systems analysis. Students are equipped with the skills and knowledge necessary to stand out in a rapidly growing field. Graduates of this MSN Nursing Informatics program will earn their HQ Principles certification in addition to both their BSN and MSN degrees.

WGU offers low, flat-rate tuition that’s about half what students pay at other online universities. Our online programs deliver unparalleled flexibility, allowing students to complete coursework whenever and wherever works best for their schedules. Students also benefit from our competency-based learning model, which lets them complete most courses as quickly as they prove mastery of the material, making it possible to accelerate their progress and potentially graduate faster. Faculty mentors work one-on-one with WGU students, providing dedicated coaching, guidance, and support from enrollment through graduation—and beyond.


This program consists of 150 competency units (CUs, our equivalent to the traditional credit hour), including a capstone project.

Applicants must possess a current, unencumbered registered nurse (RN) license. Applicants must be actively working as an RN at the time of application and enrollment.

Special Accreditation

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation Statement

Western Governors University is the only university to have received simultaneous accreditation by four regional accrediting commissions. Currently, WGU's "home" accrediting commission is the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, the same organization that accredits such leading institutions as the University of Washington, University of Oregon, University of Utah, Brigham Young University, and other public and private colleges.

Restricted States

Tennessee, Washington