Master of Science in Cybersecurity & Information Assurance
Western Governors University

Program Details

WGU’s online Master of Science in Cybersecurity and Information Assurance (MSCSIA) prepares students to lead the charge against hackers, viruses, and other cyber threats. The MSCSIA program is designed in collaboration with cybersecurity experts to meet the most recent Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and National Security Agency (NSA) guidelines. Curriculum focuses on network design and management, risk management, security policies and standards, forensics and network intrusion, cyberlaw, disaster recovery, and hacking, and incorporates two ED-Council certifications. Graduates of the MSCSIA program will be equipped with the skills, knowledge, and certifications necessary for a successful career as a cybersecurity leader in the public or private sectors. 

WGU's online programs deliver unparalleled flexibility, allowing students to complete coursework whenever and wherever works best for their schedules. Students also benefit from the competency-based learning model, which lets them complete most courses as quickly as they prove mastery of the material, making it possible to accelerate their progress and potentially graduate faster. Faculty Mentors work one-on-one with WGU students, providing dedicated coaching, guidance, and support from enrollment through graduation and beyond.

*WGU cannot currently accept applicants who are residents of California. 

% Online

100% Online

School Accreditation & Licensing

Western Governors University is accredited by:

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

Western Governors University is the only university to have received simultaneous accreditation by four regional accrediting commissions. Currently, WGU's "home" accrediting commission is the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, the same organization that accredits such leading institutions as the University of Washington, University of Oregon, University of Utah, Brigham Young University, and other public and private colleges.

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Application Requirements

Additional Materials May Be Requested, Official College Transcript(s)

Restricted States