Syracuse, NY

School Details

The State University of New York (SUNY), Upstate Medical University, located on an urban campus in Syracuse, New York, is a university of health sciences. The campus houses University Hospital and is affiliated with Binghamton Hospital and 22 additional hospitals located across central New York. The history of SUNY Upstate dates back to 1834, when Geneva Medical College was established as part of Geneva College, which is presently known as Hobart and William Smith Colleges. In 1871, Geneva Medical College was disbanded, and its assets were donated to Syracuse University, which later established a medical college. Syracuse University sold the college to the State University of New York in 1950, and a clinical campus was established in Binghamton, New York in 1979. 

The mission of SUNY Upstate is to use education, biomedical research and healthcare to improve the life of the community. Upstate is a biomedical research enterprise that focuses on the most prevalent human diseases which include cancer, heart disease, diabetes, vision, infectious diseases and nervous system disorders. SUNY Upstate is an upper division transfer and graduate college, and its degree programs are offered within the following colleges:

  • College of Medicine
  • College of Health Professions
  • College of Nursing
  • College of Graduate Studies

Accreditation & Licensing

Upstate Medical University is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Check Program Availability