College Park, MD

School Details

Charter in 1856 as the Maryland Agricultural College, the Maryland legislature voted to designate the Maryland Agricultural College as a land grant institution in 1864. The college struggled through the Civil War and its aftermath and became a partially state-funded institution in 1866. Enrollment steadily grew over the next 50 years, and the state took full control over the institution in 1916, renaming it the Maryland State College of Agriculture. Women were first enrolled in the same year. Soon after, Albert F. Woods, during his tenure as president, created seven schools, each with its own dean, and the state college consolidated with the University of Maryland in 1920. Since then, the University of Maryland, College Park, has continued to expand, becoming the flagship campus of the Maryland system and a premier research institution with a mission “to provide excellent teaching, research, and service and advance knowledge in areas of importance to the State, the nation, and the world.”

The University of Maryland awards bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees, as well as undergraduate and graduate certificates from the following schools and colleges:

  • College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
  • School of Architecture, Planning, and Preservation
  • College of Arts and Humanities
  • College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • Robert H. Smith School of Business
  • College of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences
  • College of Education
  • A. James Clark School of Engineering
  • The Graduate School
  • Philip Merrill College of Journalism
  • College of Information Studies
  • School of Public Health
  • School of Public Policy

Online programs are offered though the individual schools, leading to degrees at all levels.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Maryland-College Park is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Check Program Availability