Graduate Certificate in Clinical Nurse Specialist / Adult Gerontology
University of Detroit Mercy

Program Details

The online Post-Master’s Certificate in Clinical Nurse Specialist / Adult Gerontology program from the University of Detroit Mercy provides qualified nurses with the opportunity to gain specialty knowledge in adult-gerontology advanced practice nursing. Coursework focuses on the areas of:

  • Advanced Pathophysiology
  • Advanced Physical Assessment
  • Advanced Pharmacology
  • The Role of the Clinical Nurse Specialist


  • A baccalaureate degree in nursing from a nationally accredited program
  • A minimum cumulative undergraduate GPA of 3.0
  • Official transcripts from each institution of higher education attended 
  • A minimum of 2000 hours as a registered nurse
  • A current unencumbered license to practice as a Registered Nurse in the State of Michigan, or in the state of home residence
  • Three letters of professional recommendation
  • Professional CV or current resume
  • An autobiographical statement of personal goals and objectives
  • An interview with graduate faculty

School Accreditation Statement

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission

Geographic Restrictions

Not authorized for residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Tennessee, Texa