Monticello, AR

School Details

The University of Arkansas at Monticello was established in 1909 by an act of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas to serve the educational needs of Southeast Arkansas. Originally called the Fourth District Agricultural School, the University opened its doors in 1910. In 1925, the General Assembly authorized the school's name to be changed to Agricultural and Mechanical College of the Fourth District. It received accreditation as a junior college in 1928. In 1939, the name was changed to Arkansas Agricultural and Mechanical College and it received accreditation as a four-year institution in 1940. Arkansas A&M became part of the University of Arkansas system in 1971.

UAM offers associate’s, bachelor’s, and master’s degrees, as well as undergraduate and graduate certificates from the following schools:

  • School of Agriculture
  • School of Arts & Humanities
  • School of Business
  • School of Computer Information Systems
  • School of Education
  • School of Forestry & Natural Resources
  • School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Online programs are available within the schools as well, leading to degrees and certificates at all levels.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Arkansas at Monticello is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability