Master of Science in Nursing / Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Acute Care
The University of Texas at El Paso

Program Details

The University of Texas at El Paso offers an online Master of Science in Nursing degree with a specialty program in Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Acute Care. The PNP-AC focuses on managing the healthcare needs of hospitalized children with chronic, acute, or critical illnesses.

This online Nurse Practitioner degree takes a family-centered approach to caring for pediatric patients from birth through age 21. Students learn how to undertake complex monitoring and ongoing management of intensive therapies. Graduates are eligible to sit for the PNP-AC advanced practice board certification examination.

Curriculum follows industry standard publications and organizations including:

  • Essentials of Master’s Education in Nursing (AACN)
  • Consensus Model for APRN Regulation: Licensure, Accreditation, Certification & Education
  • National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties (NONPF)

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

The University of Texas at El Paso is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Interview, Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • A 2-day on-campus new student orientation is required.
  • During specialty courses, usually the last 3 semesters, students may be asked to come to campus a maximum of three times per semester.
  • Applicants must have a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from an accredited institution and hold a valid, unencumbered Registered Nurse license.
  • Applicants must have current direct patient care experience and 1-2 years of pediatric critical care experience.

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, District of Columbia, Louisiana, Minnesota, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, Wyoming