Find out more about Texas Southern University

Executive Master of Administration of Justice

Program Details

The mission of the Department of Administration of Justice at Texas Southern University is to educate students for careers and community service within a perse urban environment through the development of specialized knowledge and skills needed for effective public service. The Department strives to prepare students not only with facts and concepts, but also, more importantly, to think critically and ethically in applying knowledge to related problems and challenging situations. 

The objectives of the Department of Administration of Justice are to prepare professionals and change agents to serve as future leaders at the local, state and national level as well as globally, provide students with an understanding of justice agencies in the United States, and prepare students to apply their knowledge of justice theories, research methods, and statistics to the administration and management of justice agencies.

The graduate program is designed to advance students’ understanding of justice in the contemporary era, and prepares them for challenges in law enforcement, corrections, and judicial administration. The program will prepare academicians, policy makers, top administrators and researchers by advancing their knowledge of theory, research and data analysis. In addition, the program places emphasis on the historical and contemporary issues in administrative and policy matters, including race and crime, homeland security, and the application of geographic information systems. In order to accommodate the needs of our professional graduate students, the Department of Administration of Justice offers its courses in the evening. 

The program consists of 36 semester credit hours as follows: eighteen semester hours of core courses; six semester hours of thesis (for the thesis option) or six required courses for non-thesis option; and twelve semester hours of elective courses.

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges