Find out more about Tennessee Technological University

Master of Arts in Exercise Science, Physical Education & Wellness

School Details

Tennessee Technological University, commonly called Tennessee Tech, is a 4-year, public institution of higher learning that was established by the state in 1915. Tennessee struggled in the early twentieth century to fund the church-supported University of Dixie in the rural town of Cookeville. A move to transfer the school from a privately funded institution to a public school supported by Cookeville and surrounding Putnam County in 1915 revived the school as it adopted a new title, Tennessee Tech and officially opened in the fall of 1916. The technical school initially prepared students for skilled labor in industry and agriculture. By the 1930s, curriculum expanded to offer four-year degrees, and by mid-century, Tennessee Polytechnic Institute transitioned into Tennessee Technological University, organizing academic programs into five colleges.

TTU offers more than bachelor’s, master's and doctoral degree programs categorized into six academic divisions:

  • College of Agriculture & Human Ecology
  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Whitson-Hester School of Nursing
  • Graduate Studies

TTU also offers online degree programs at the bachelor's and the master's level.


  • On-campus orientation and on-campus comprehensive examinations required
  • Licensure program requires added 20 credits
  • Minimum 2.5 undergraduate GPA for provisional admission and a minimum 2.75 undergraduate GPA for full standing
  • GRE or MAT scores (waived for applicants with 3.75 GPA or higher or passing score on EdTPA and minimum 3.0 GPA)
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • All undergraduate transcripts
  • Writing sample
  • Letter of Intent
  • Interview (if required)

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges

The elementary and middle school concentration and teacher licensure program are accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).