Portland, OR

School Details

Oregon Health & Science University was founded in 1867 as a division of Willamette University. Originally located in Salem, Oregon, in 1877, Willamette University’s medical program was relocated to Portland, Oregon. In 1915 Willamette University and the University of Oregon merged programs to form the University of Oregon Medical School which then became Oregon Health & Science University in 2001. Today, Oregon Health & Science University is the state’s only comprehensive public academic health center and operates under the mission "to reach excellence in education, research and scholarship, clinical practice and community service and to stimulate the spirit of inquiry, initiative, and cooperation among students, faculty and staff." Oregon Health & Science University’s campus is located in the large city of Portland, Oregon.

Students can earn bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees at Oregon Health & Science University housed with the following schools:

  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Dentistry
  • School of Public Health
  • College of Pharmacy


Accreditation & Licensing

Oregon Health & Science University is accredited by:

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU)

Check Program Availability