Master of Business Administration / Master of Science in Nursing (Dual Degree)
Kent State University

Program Details

Registered nurses can prepare for advanced clinical roles as well as gain valuable business leadership knowledge with the Master of Business Administration / Master of Science in Nursing dual degree from Kent State. Graduates are eligible for national certification as Clinical Nurse Specialists or Nurse Practitioners, or they can serve in nursing education, healthcare management, or leadership positions.

This online Business Administration degree is designed for experienced nurses who want to pursue middle or executive management positions within healthcare settings or start their own business. With this online MSN program, students gain advanced nursing preparation alongside practical management skills.

A sample of course topics includes:

  • Leadership in nursing and healthcare management
  • Legal and regulatory management for nurse administrators
  • Health policy and advanced nursing practice
  • Healthcare organization structure and behavior

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Kent State University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

GMAT, GRE, Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • A bachelor's and/or graduate degree from an accredited registered nursing program is preferred. Applicants with a RN license and bachelor's degree in a non-nursing field will be considered based on faculty review of a submitted portfolio.
  • Active, unrestricted RN license required
  • Must have completed an undergraduate statistics course with minimum C grade

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International