Master of Science in Nursing / Psychiatric/Mental Health (RN to MSN)
Wilkes University

Program Details

Registered Nurses with an associate’s degree can achieve their goal of becoming a nurse practitioner with this online Master of Science in Nursing program from Wilkes University. Students can help fulfill the country’s growing need for psychiatric and mental healthcare providers by pursuing the Master of Science in Nursing with a specialization in Psychiatric/Mental Health.

The program provides skills and knowledge in completing comprehensive mental health assessments, as well as individual, family, and group psychotherapy. Students develop competence in prescribing and monitoring medications for use with patients of all ages. Coursework also examines clinical modalities and theories useful in identifying individuals and populations at risk for mental illness.

Coursework prepares students for:

  • Advanced practice from clinical, theoretical, and professional standpoints
  • Research, reasoning, diagnosis, and critical thinking
  • Developing healthcare policy, politics, and advocacy systems
  • Delivering informed care with consideration to patients’ population and cultural perspectives

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Wilkes University is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Associate Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Resume/CV

Additional Info

  • Applicants should have a minimum of one year of clinical experience
  • Unencumbered R.N. license
  • Associate Degree in Nursing required
  • A pass-through bachelor's degree is not granted as part of the Associate Degree in Nursing to Master of Science in Nursing

Restricted States

Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington, Wyoming