Master of Science in Nursing / Family Nurse Practitioner (RN to MSN)
Walden University

Program Details

The Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) from Walden University offers a concentration in Family Nurse Practitioner.  This online family nurse practitioner program prepares students to become advanced practice registered nurses for patients of all ages by preparing them to gain autonomy or advance in their careers.  You will gain the knowledge and skills needed to assess and manage health issues in patients from birth through the senior years.  The well-rounded curriculum focuses on evidence-based techniques that enhance the quality of care and outcomes for patients along with a focus on current health issues.  You will learn to effectively implement and facilitate disease prevention, health promotion, health maintenance, and restorative care interventions.   Courses offer strategies that can prepare you to work in primary care health settings to change the course of your healthcare career.  Graduates are ready to pursue national family nurse practitioner certification and state credentialing. 

Students have the opportunity to complete this program using the RN to MSN track.  This online RN to MSN program is designed for registered nurses entering the program with a hospital diploma, associate degree in nursing, or a bachelor’s degree other than a BSN and allows RN’s to enhance their knowledge and skills.  You will fulfill general education requirements and then begin foundation courses for the MSN.

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Walden University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Some College

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s)

Additional Info

  • Must hold a current, active RN license
  • Requires completion of an associate or diploma nursing program

Restricted States

Idaho, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota