Master of Science in Human Services / Military Families & Culture
Walden University

Program Details

Walden University offers an online human services degree, the Master of Science in Human Services with a concentration in Military Families & Culture.  This concentration combines the human services degree with an online marriage and family therapy degree as individuals prepare for careers as social and community workers for veterans services, human services program leaders, and nontherapeutic counselors.  This program focuses on helping members of the armed forces and their families while they are on the front lines and when they return home.  Courses provide an understanding of military culture; explore topics such as post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and vicarious trauma; and examine how frequent relocations, parent-child separation, and extensive deployments impact military families.  Graduates will have the knowledge, skills, and strategies to help active and former military personnel and their families cope effectively with hardships while also improving their quality of life.  

The curriculum in this online master’s in human services degree also examines subjects in the broader human and social services field.  It focuses on building your effectiveness and professional skills in your chosen area of practice within a global context. As a student of the program, you will develop a holistic, interprofessional perspective that better equips you to help individuals, families, and organizations navigate social services in your community.

The program is not designed to lead to professional licensure.

Learning Pace


% Online

100% Online

School Accreditation & Licensing

Walden University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

2.5 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Additional Materials May Be Requested, Official College Transcript(s)

Restricted States

Idaho, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota