Master of Science in Developmental Psychology
Walden University

Program Details

Walden University offers an online Master of Science in Developmental Psychology for students interested in studying human growth and development.  This online master’s in psychology is geared toward working professionals and offers a career-oriented program that allows professionals to apply their learning to address the needs of diverse populations.  Courses cover relevant, contemporary societal issues with a global perspective, such as LGBTQ, digital technology’s effects on human development, refugees, and immigration, allowing students to understand the needs of specific populations and make a lasting difference on people of all ages and backgrounds.  The curriculum explores the theoretical foundations of developmental psychology and prepares students to apply principles of the field in areas of cognitive, language, social, and emotional functioning across the human development lifespan.  Graduates are able to research, interpret, and apply principles of developmental psychology theory to real-world educational, social, health, and other settings while promoting positive social change through its application. 

Walden offers six areas of specialization in addition to the general developmental psychology focus:

  • Administration and Leadership
  • Adult Development and Gerontology
  • Child and Adolescent Development
  • Health and Human Development
  • International Perspectives in Developmental Psychology
  • Self-Designed

This is not a licensure program and does not prepare an individual to become a licensed psychology or counseling professional.

Learning Pace


Learning Schedule


% Online

100% Online

School Accreditation & Licensing

Walden University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

2.5 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Additional Materials May Be Requested, Official College Transcript(s)

Restricted States

Idaho, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota