Master of Science in Nursing / Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
University of Southern Indiana

Program Details

The University of Southern Indiana offers an online adult nurse practitioner program, the MSN with a concentration in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner degree.  This program is designed for nurses seeking to advance their careers and roles in patient-care.  Working with patients that range from late adolescents through adulthood, graduates are able to provide direct health care services.  You will not only advocate for disease prevention and health promotion but will also serve as an advocate for patients and their families to provide cost-effective, culturally competent, ethical, quality care.  Courses prepare students to prevent diseases and manage acute and chronic illnesses using critical thinking, patient and diagnostic test data, differential diagnoses, and therapeutic interventions. 

Graduates are competent and responsible providers working in such clinical settings as:

  • Acute care hospitals
  • Long term care facilities
  • Physician offices
  • Urgent care centers
  • Ambulatory care centers

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

University of Southern Indiana is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • An unencumbered US RN license in all states of practice
  • Recommended but not required: one year full-time or two thousand hours of clinical practice as an RN within the last five years

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Washington, Wyoming