Doctor of Nursing Practice / Advanced Nursing Practice
University of Southern Indiana

Program Details

The Doctor of Nursing Practice with a concentration in Advanced Nursing Practice is an online nurse practitioner program for those seeking to advance their careers and take on leadership positions in healthcare.  This is an evidence-based and practice-focused doctorate, emphasizing the importance of credible research findings.  The goal of the DNP curriculum is to broaden the student’s knowledge base, enabling the student to use this knowledge to benefit patients, improve outcomes, and contribute to nursing quickly and effectively.  

While all DNP students complete the same courses, assignments within each course depend on the concentration.  Students will Integrate nursing science with knowledge from ethics, and biophysical, psychosocial, analytical, and organizational sciences as they serve as leaders in the development and implementation of healthcare delivery and policy.  Graduates are prepared to collaborate with interprofessional teams to improve client, population, and system health outcomes; advocate for patients and the nursing field; lead quality improvement initiatives within diverse health care environments; and develop initiatives that increase patient safety while reducing medical error.

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

University of Southern Indiana is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • A master's degree in nursing from a nationally accredited school of nursing
  • A copy of unencumbered RN license(s)

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Washington, Wyoming