Master of Science in Nursing / Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
University of South Carolina-Columbia

Program Details

The online Master of Science in Nursing program from the University of South Carolina at Columbia offers a specialization in Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. This degree prepares nurses to provide holistic mental health care to patients of all ages.

The curriculum integrates neuroscientific principles of behavior, experience, and psychopharmacology with psychotherapy, consultation, and trauma-related care. Online coursework is combined with hands-on clinical experiences with a preceptor and through telehealth delivery to patients in rural areas. Graduates are eligible to sit for the PMHNP exam from the American Nurses Credentialing Center.

Former students of this online Mental Health Nurse Practitioner program have gone on to work in settings including:

  • Nurse-managed clinics
  • Inpatient psychiatric facilities
  • Home healthcare
  • Private psychiatric practices
  • Addiction centers
  • General ambulatory clinics
  • Schools

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

University of South Carolina-Columbia is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Requires one on-campus immersion experience
  • Must have a BSN from a nationally accredited program, unencumbered RN license, and current BLS certification
  • Science grades strongly considered
  • Minimum one year full-time equivalent nursing experience in past 24 months required

Restricted States

Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International