Master of Science in Nursing / Family Nurse Practitioner
University of South Carolina-Columbia

Program Details

Gain the skills and experience you need to provide primary health care across the lifespan with the online MSN / Family Nurse Practitioner from the University of South Carolina at Columbia. Students gain a strong foundation in patient wellness and prevention, as well as treatment for health concerns ranging from mild ailments to serious conditions.

The online FNP program gives nurses the educational preparation necessary to sit for the Family Nurse Practitioner exams from the American Nurse Credentialing Center and the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board. The program combines online coursework with hands-on training and on-campus intensive experiences.

Graduates can work in settings including:

  • Outpatient care
  • NP practices
  • Clinics
  • Physician’s offices
  • Women’s health centers
  • Schools
  • Specialty care practices

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

University of South Carolina-Columbia is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Requires two on-campus immersion experiences
  • Must have a BSN from a nationally accredited program, unencumbered RN license, and current BLS certification
  • Science grades strongly considered
  • Minimum one year full-time equivalent nursing experience in past 24 months required, preferred in critical care, ICU, medical/surgical, or emergency department

Restricted States

Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International