Master of Science in Nursing / Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
University of South Carolina-Columbia

Program Details

The University of South Carolina at Columbia offers an online Master of Science in Nursing for students pursuing certification as an Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. AGACNP students learn to oversee care for patients with acute and complex health needs.

Students gain skills and experience with assessment, clinical decision making, treatment planning, and diagnostic and interventional procedures. The program includes components of online coursework, on-campus immersion experiences, and clinical rotations in the student’s local area. Courses focus on the care of adult and elderly individuals.

Graduates of this program have found employment in acute settings including:

  • Hospitalist inpatient care
  • Critical care
  • Trauma
  • Cardiology
  • Pulmonary
  • Nephrology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Surgery

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

University of South Carolina-Columbia is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Requires two on-campus immersion experiences
  • Must have a BSN from a nationally accredited program, unencumbered RN license, and current BLS and ACLS certification
  • Science grades strongly considered
  • Minimum one year full-time equivalent nursing experience in past 24 months required, preferred in critical care, ICU, medical/surgical, or emergency department

Restricted States

Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International