Master of Science in Nursing
University of San Francisco

Program Details

The online MSN program from the University of San Francisco prepares students to lead and succeed in the modern health care system.  Adopting USF’s Jesuit approach to nursing, the curriculum ensures that students have a global perspective when making health care decisions and that they adopt the idea of “care of the whole person.”  Emphasis is placed on:

  • Leadership
  • Quality
  • Safety
  • Evidence-based education

Courses integrate the humanities, public health, and physical and organizational sciences into nursing, ensuring graduates are well-rounded students that are ready to make a difference in health care.  Graduates are destined to promote policy and advocacy while providing a moral compass that changes health care in order to further equity and positively influence quality, delivery, and access.

This MSN online program offers two entry points depending on the student’s background.  One is designed for those who are RNs while the other is for those with a baccalaureate degree in a field other than nursing.

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

University of San Francisco is accredited by:

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Active unencumbered RN License documentation 

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International