Master of Science in Nursing / Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
University of Colorado – Colorado Springs

Program Details

The University of Colorado – Colorado Springs offers an online MSN degree with a specialization in Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. Students gain knowledge and experience in mental health assessment, diagnosis, interventions, and management across the lifespan.

This online psychiatric nursing program offers coursework focused on the needs of child and adolescent, adult, and geriatric populations. Students gain experience in research, health care policy, nursing theory, clinical problem solving/critical thinking, and creativity. Graduates are able to foster change in health care delivery systems, assume leadership in fostering collaborative interprofessional care teams to integrate care service across the health care system, and participate in lifelong learning to promote excellence and to design innovative models of nursing practice.

Students gain core advanced practice nursing competencies such as:

  • Philosophical foundations in nursing practice
  • Research and knowledge translation in nursing
  • Health assessment
  • Pathophysiology

% Online

100% Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

University of Colorado – Colorado Springs is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

GRE, Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV

Additional Info

  • Must have a bachelor's degree from an ACEN or CCNE accredited institution with an upper division major in nursing
  • Must have a current, unrestricted Registered Nurse license in the state where you practice during practicum rotations
  • GRE requirement waived for GPA 3.5 or higher

Restricted States

Alabama, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, US Territories, International