Find out more about The University of Alabama

Educational Specialist in Secondary Education / Science

School Details

The University of Alabama, the state of Alabama’s oldest public university, is a senior comprehensive doctoral-level institution. The University was established by constitutional provision under statutory mandates and authorizations in 1819. Its mission is “to advance the intellectual and social condition of the people of the state through quality programs of teaching, research and service.”

UA offers a full range of undergraduate and graduate degrees from the following schools and colleges:

  • College of Arts & Sciences
  • College of Communication & Information Sciences
  • College of Community Health Sciences
  • College of Continuing Studies
  • Culverhouse College of Commerce
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • Graduate School
  • Honors College
  • College of Human Environmental Sciences
  • Law School
  • Capstone College of Nursing
  • School of Social Work

In addition, degrees at all levels may be earned online through the department of Distance Education.


  • Master's level certification in secondary general science, secondary biology, secondary chemistry or secondary physics
  • Master's degree from an accredited institution
  • 3.0 GPA or higher in a completed graduate degree program
  • Minimum score of 300 on the GRE or 50th percentile on the MAT
  • Official transcripts from all institutions attended
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Statement of purpose

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges

Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)