Master of Arts in Counseling / Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Saybrook University

Program Details

The Master of Arts in Counseling with a specialization in Clinical Mental Health Counseling is an online counseling degree from Saybrook University for students interested in applying for licensure as a counselor.  The curriculum focuses on the interconnectedness of all things while teaching students to apply a holistic and systemic perspective to working with others in various settings.  While the courses are completed online with only a required residential conference at the beginning of each semester, the program includes 700 hours of field experience that allows student to prepare for careers in the field without relocating.  Upon completion of this online counseling degree, students will have completed the coursework required to apply for licensure as a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC), Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC), or Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC).

At Saybrook, the faculty is committed to creating a supportive environment with engaged, experienced, and encouraging professors.  They prepare competent mental health professionals who go on to inspire transformational change in individuals and communities toward a just, humane, and sustainable world.

Learning Pace


% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Saybrook University is accredited by:

WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Admission Tests

Proof of English Language Proficiency (International Students)

Application Requirements

Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • The program begins with a one-time, two-day Residential Orientation. Students will also participate in two five-day long required residential conferences per year.