Certificate in Medical Billing & Coding
Rasmussen College

Program Details

At Rasmussen College, the Medical Billing and Coding Certificate prepares you for a career in the rapidly growing healthcare industry — in as few as nine months in a fully online program.1 Rasmussen's small class sizes and experienced instructors ensure you gain the in-demand skills employers value most, including proficiency in medical coding software and systems, and the ability to navigate health records systems and health information privacy. To give you a competitive edge in the job market, the Medical Billing and Coding Certificate program prepares you to take the CCA or CCS certification exam offered by AHIMA, and the application fee is included in your total program costs.2,3 In addition, you can continue advancing your education by transferring your Certificate into the Health Information Technician Associate's degree where you can finish in as few as nine months.1

Completion time is dependent on transfer credits accepted and courses completed each term. 

2 The CCA and CCS certification exams are offered by the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA). The first attempt of the CCS exam may be included in lieu of the CCA if you can demonstrate a minimum of two years’ coding experience directly applying codes. 

3 The fee for each student’s first attempt at the certification exam is included in the total cost of the program. Should you need to take the exam more than once to receive a passing score, you will be responsible for all subsequent exam application fees. See rasmussen.edu/SID for information about educational debt, earnings and completion rates.

% Online

100% Online

School Accreditation & Licensing

Rasmussen College is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

hlcommission.org | 800-621-7440.

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

High School or Equivalent

Applicaton Requirements

Official High School Transcript/ GED Score, Criminal Background Check

Restricted States

US Territories, Connecticut, New York, Rhode Island