Master of Arts in Marriage & Family Therapy / Systemic Sex Therapy
Northcentral University

Program Details

Building upon clients' strengths and resources, you can learn how to help change relationships and improve communication within them.  This online MA in Marriage & Family Therapy with a specialization in Systemic Sex Therapy, enables you to empower others to find their own solutions to sexual difficulties.  As an advanced degree offered by NCU, the coursework explores how religion, society and culture have influenced sexual behavior.  Through historical and theoretical perspectives, you’ll study disorders, therapy models, assessment and ethical issues surrounding this highly-specialized practice.  This program requires an extensive clinical practicum and internship, where you’ll gain valuable first-hand experience.  Curriculum normally includes:

  • Sex Therapy in MFT
  • Human Sexuality
  • Systemic Sex Therapy:  Historical and Theoretical Foundations

Northcentral's curriculum follows the guidelines of the AAMFT and may be used as a licensure path.  However, be sure to check with your individual state regarding license requirements prior to enrolling in this, or any other, program.


  • A conferred bachelor’s and/or a conferred master’s or doctoral degree
  • Current resume or CV
  • Statement of Intent
  • Licensure plan (not required for applicants with an existing MFT license)
  • Statement of professional ethics and conduct
  • List of clinical site possibilities in the area of residence
  • Course transfer/waive request (if applicable)
  • Interview with an MFT faculty member
  • Background check

Special Accreditation

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (COAMFTE-AAMFT)

School Accreditation Statement

NCU is a WSCUC accredited institution. WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC), 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, 510.748.9001, WSCUC is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

Restricted States

Arkansas, District of Columbia, Kansas, New Hampshire