Find out more about Montana State University-Billings

Receive more information about

Master of Health Administration

Program Details

The Master of Health Administration (MHA) degree offered by the Billings campus of Montana State University is a program of study offered to students in a completely online format. Graduates of this program are prepared to take on positions in the following environments and fields: hospitals, health insurance organizations, medical groups practices, clinics, mental health organizations, public health departments, universities and research centers, skilled nursing facilities, human resources, nursing management, patient care services, physician practices, health care associations, consulting firms, and long-term care. This program is specifically designed to help respond to the needs of working professionals and other individuals who wish to advance in the field of health administration. Students take concentrated online courses, which generally last 8-weeks. Students are also required to complete a capstone project and an internship. It should be noted that the internship is specifically required for students who do not have a strong background in healthcare management or administration. Students can complete this program in as few as 20 months or as long as two years.

Students are required to take and complete 44 to 47 credit hours of courses in order to graduate with the Master of Health Administration degree. These required courses include Health Care Finance and Reimbursement, Research and Evaluation Methods, and Managerial Accounting and Budgeting. Through these courses and the other requirements, students learn competencies such as political, social, and economic factors that affect health organizations and policy, as well as organizational management theories and behaviors. Students learn how to use quantitative methods for business and health, including epidemiology, quality of outcomes assessment, medical information, and information systems.

Accreditation & Licensing

Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities