Family Nurse Practitioner Post-Master’s Certificate
Indiana State University

Program Details

The online Post-Master’s Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner is designed for registered nurses holding a master's degree who desire to continue their education and expand their skillset as a Family Nurse Practitioner.

While all of the courses are offered online, students must complete a clinical placement, which may be completed in the student’s place of residence. T

Upon successful completion of program requirements, a certificate is awarded and students are eligible to apply for American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) certification or the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) certification.


  • Earned master’s degree with a major in nursing from a nationally accredited program of nursing
  • Provide documentation of successful completion of a graduate level advanced pathophysiology course with a minimum grade of B
  • Provide documentation of successful completion of a graduate level pharmacology course within the past five years with a minimum grade of B. If older than five years, the student must retake this course.
  • Some states require pharmacology within the past three years. It is the student’s responsibility to check with their state to determine this time frame and repeat the course if necessary.
  • The equivalent of one year full-time RN experience (minimum of 1500 verifiable hours) at time of application. This experience must have been completed within the last five years.
  • GPA 3.0 or above on a 4.0 scale in graduate studies
  • Current, unencumbered licensure as a registered nurse in the state of practice
  • Resume or CV
  • Two professional and one academic reference
  • Personal statement of professional goals

School Accreditation Statement

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission

Geographic Restrictions

Not authorized for the following states: Alabama, Alaska, North Dakota, Arkansas, Idaho, Oregon, South Dakota, West Virginia, Louisiana, New York, Oklahoma and Tennessee.This program is also closed to all students (including U.S. military and State Depa