Master of Science in Nursing / Family Nurse Practitioner
Carlow University

Program Details

Gain the comprehensive clinical knowledge, training, and confidence necessary to become a highly qualified FNP through Carlow’s online Master of Science in Nursing Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN FNP) program.  Taught by expert faculty who are still participating in their fields, this online nurse practitioner program prepares learners for successful and impactful FNP careers and board certification.  Graduates are prepared to work with families, elderly patients, and children in chronic and urgent care settings.  

Based in the traditions and values of the Sisters of Mercy, this program has a reputation for producing some of the most qualified and well prepared board-certified nurses.  The online MSN FNP degree requires 600 hours of clinical experience and a brief, hands-on residency on Carlow’s campus, ensuring graduates are competent and confident in their ability to deliver ethical and compassionate patient-centered care.  

In an average of two and a half years students are ready to graduate and sit for AANP or ANCC national board certification and fill in-demand healthcare roles.  For learners seeking a higher degree, the program offers a streamlined process into Carlow’s DNP program. Carlow also offers an FNP certificate for nurses who already have an MSN.

% Online

Mostly Online

Program Accreditation & Licensing

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)

School Accreditation & Licensing

Carlow University is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Bachelor Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV, Statement of Purpose/Intent

Additional Info

  • Applicants must have one year or more of recent clinical (bedside) nursing experience.
  • This program requires an on-campus residency.

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa