Master of Divinity
Abilene Christian University

Program Details

The online Master of Divinity program is a comprehensive formational degree for ministry at Abilene Christian University that will help students answer God’s calling for them as ministers, in their current vocations, or in further study in doctoral degree programs.  The Christian curriculum offers a firm grounding in scripture, history, and theology along with training in practical ministry skills that include the art of preaching and reading cultures and contexts.  This program emphasizes learning in context, with students exploring case studies and ministry scenarios, while contextual mentoring provides an informal setting for prayer and discussion with local mentors.  In addition, students are taught by faculty and leaders who are experts in their field and immersed in their communities so graduates are best equipped for the work they will do as Christ-centered, global leaders. 

Graduates will be able to:

  • Integrate theology in contemporary cultural contexts
  • Understand historical and contemporary beliefs and practices of the worldwide church
  • Lead and equip the church for its various ministries
  • Demonstrate growth in Christian character essential for ministerial faithfulness and effectiveness
  • Exercise care for others’ souls in fitting and compassionate ways


  • Official transcripts
  • A cumulative undergraduate approximate B average or above in the area of focus or related area and evidence of an overall productive GPA
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • A writing sample
  • A bachelor's degree

School Accreditation Statement

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges