Prairie View, TX

School Details

Prairie View A&M University, the first state supported College in Texas for African Americans, was established during the Reconstruction Period after the Civil War in 1876. The four-year senior college program began in 1919 and in 1937, a division of graduate studies was added. In 1973, the name of the institution was changed to Prairie View A&M University, and its status as an independent unit of the Texas A&M University System was confirmed.

Prairie View offers bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees from the following schools and colleges:

  • College of Agriculture and Human Sciences
  • Marvin D. and June Samuel Brailsford College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Juvenile Justice and Psychology
  • College of Business
  • Roy G. Perry College of Engineering
  • Whitlowe R. Green College of Education
  • College of Nursing
  • School of Architecture


Accreditation & Licensing

Prairie View A & M University is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Check Program Availability

All Programs


Master of Business Administration

Criminal Justice, Safety & Law

Master of Science in Juvenile Justice