Springfield, MA

School Details

A private university located in Springfield, Massachusetts, Western New England University, was founded in 1919 and was originally known as the Springfield Division of Northeastern College. At the time of its founding, classes were offered to part time students in the areas of law, business and accounting. In 1951, The Springfield Division of Northeastern College became known as Western New England College. In 1959, the college began granting bachelor’s degrees in the areas of business administration, science, engineering, education and law, as well as master’s degrees in certain areas. In 2011, university status was obtained, and the college became Western New England University. The university was founded with the goal of providing an education to people of all ages and educational backgrounds, with a focus of preparing its graduates to be leaders in their fields of study, as well as in their communities. This goal continues to benefit students at the university today.

Western New England University offers bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees in the following colleges and schools:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Pharmacy
  • School of Law
  • Center for Graduate and Advanced Studies

The university also offers certificates and other non-degree programs.

Accreditation & Licensing

Western New England University is accredited by:

New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

Check Program Availability