Detroit, MI

School Details

Founded in 1868, Wayne State is a public research university that is located in Detroit, Michigan. The campus houses over 142 education and research buildings that are in the heart of Detroit. WSU also operates six extension centers in the Detroit metro area that offer a limited selection of courses. WSU is Michigan’s third largest university and is one of the 30 largest universities in the country. WSU is the only urban research institution in Michigan, and is well known for its contributions in the sciences. WSU is classified as a Research Intensive University, by the Carnegie Foundation. WSU has partnerships with Michigan State University and the University of Michigan that allows the schools to work together to research and develop ways to help the economy of the state of Michigan.

WSU offers undergraduate and graduate degrees, specialist and certificate programs from the following schools and colleges:

  • Mike Ilitch School of Business
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Fine, Performing & Communication Arts
  • Graduate School
  • Irvin D. Reid Honors College
  • School of Library and Information Science
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Law School
  • School of Medicine
  • College of Nursing
  • Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • School of Social Work

WSU offers an online learning program that is a flexible alternative to taking traditional on-campus courses. WSU offers fully online programs that lead to bachelor's and master's degrees and certificates. Several certificates and doctoral degrees have online options as well.

Accreditation & Licensing

Wayne State University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability