La Crosse, WI

School Details

Viterbo University is a Roman Catholic liberal arts university located on an urban campus in LaCrosse, Wisconsin. The history of Viterbo dates back to 1890 when the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration founded the St. Rose Normal School, which was a school that prepared religious sisters to teach in elementary schools. The school became known as the St. Rose Junior College during the 1931-32 school year, and began admitting lay women in 1934. The school became Viterbo College in 1937 and in 1939, received approval as a four-year degree granting institution. The school began admitting men in 1970, and became Viterbo University in 2000. In addition to the main campus in LaCrosse, satellite centers are located in West Allis and Des Moines, Iowa. Viterbo offers a student-centered, values-based, learning-focused liberal arts education that is rooted in the values of human dignity and respect for the world, and prepares students for leadership and service.

Viterbo’s programs of study include undergraduate degree programs, graduate degree programs and multiple certification programs, which are housed in the following colleges:

  • College of Arts and Letters
  • College of Business and Leadership
  • College of Education, Science, and Mathematics
  • College of Nursing, Health, and Human Behavior

Viterbo has an online program that delivers the school's student-focused programs in an online format that fits the needs of busy working adults. Viterbo offers fully online undergraduate programs, blended online and face to face undergraduate and master programs, certificates, licensures and endorsements.

Accreditation & Licensing

Viterbo University is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability