Certificate of Advanced Studies in Family Nurse Practitioner
Utica College

Program Details

Utica College's online Certificate of Advanced Studies in Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) prepares those with a master's degree in nursing to broaden their knowledge base and pursue new career opportunities. The program is designed to expand your scope of nursing practice and equip you with the necessary skills to seek advancement in a variety of health care settings.

The online FNP post-master's certificate is structured to support your preparation for national certification through American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) or American Academy of Nurse Practitioners National Certification Board (AANP). As you gain the experience to succeed in the certification process and as you satisfy the necessary 720 hours of practicum, you will ultimately be prepared to redirect your career as a Family Nurse Practitioner.

Coursework focuses on topics including:

  • Advanced pharmacology
  • Advanced pathophysiology
  • Advanced health assessment
  • Diagnostic reasoning

% Online

Mostly Online

School Accreditation & Licensing

Utica College is accredited by:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Program Requirements & Restrictions

Minimum Education

Master Degree

Recommended GPA

3.0 or above (4.0 scale)

Application Requirements

Essay/Writing Sample, Occupational License, Official College Transcript(s), Recommendation/Reference Letter(s), Resume/CV

Additional Info

  • Students are required to attend a three-day (Friday–Sunday) in-person immersion experience on the Utica College campus.

Restricted States

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, US Territories, International