Eau Claire, WI

School Details

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire opened its doors in the fall of 1916 as the Eau Claire State Normal School. Although the education of teachers was the mission of the institution, from the beginning it made available two years of general education or pre-professional study for persons not expecting to teach. In 1951, the Board of Regents authorized the college to grant bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees in liberal arts, and the official name of the college became Wisconsin State College at Eau Claire. And in June 1964, the Board of Regents gave university standing to all the state colleges.

UWEC offers degrees at all levels, from associate’s to doctoral, as well as certificates from the following colleges:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business
  • College of Education and Human Sciences
  • College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Several bachelor's and master's degrees are available in online formats through the department of Continuing Education.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is accredited by:

Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

Check Program Availability