Carrollton, GA

School Details

The University of West Georgia is a public university in Carrolton, Georgia, a town located 45 miles from Atlanta. UWG was founded in 1906 and is situated on a 645 acre rural campus. UWG originally began as the Fourth District Agricultural and Mechanical School. It changed its name to West Georgia College in 1933, when it became a two-year college, and in 1957 it became a four-year academic institution. UWG is currently a charter member of the University System of Georgia.

Academic programs are offered at the undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate levels, leading to bachelor's, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees, as well as certificate programs. UWG’s programs have a liberal arts foundation and provide knowledge that is needed to foster the intellectual growth of students, which will enable them to become socially and personally responsible members of society. UGW’s schools include:

  • Richards College of Business
  • College of Arts and Humanities
  • College of Science and Mathematics
  • College of Social Sciences
  • Tanner Health System School of Nursing
  • College of Education
  • Honors College
  • Graduate School

UWG offers an online program to students that require a flexible schedule, and who are not able to attend UWG classes that are held in the traditional classroom environment. UWG Online offers core classes and degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of West Georgia is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Check Program Availability