School Overview

The University of Southern Maine was established when three academic establishments came together: the original teachers college in Gorham, founded in 1878, Portland University for accountants, founded in 1919, and later Lewiston-Auburn College in Lewiston, founded in 1988. They now comprise the three campuses of the University of Southern Maine, a public, regional, comprehensive university, which operates with a mission to provide students with a high-quality, accessible, affordable education.

USM offers undergraduate, graduate, and professional programs, leading to degrees and certificates at all levels, from the following colleges and schools:

  • College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences
  • School of Music
  • College of Management and Human Service
  • School of Business
  • School of Education and Human Development
  • Muskie School of Public Service
  • School of Social Work
  • College of Science, Technology and Health
  • School of Nursing
  • Lewiston-Auburn College
  • University of Maine School of Law

School Details

Location: 96 Falmouth St,Portland, ME 04103

Religious Affiliation: Not applicable

Sector & Type: Public, Not-for-profit

Military Support:

  • Credit for Training
  • Dedicated POC
  • Member of SOC
  • Recognized SVO
  • Yellow Ribbon

Highest Offering: Doctorate

Accreditation & Licensing

New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Commission on Institutions of Higher Education



This school has not been ranked.

Success! Thank you for submitting a review. You may not see your review immediately as it still subject to review.

All Programs