Find out more about University of South Carolina-Columbia

Take the first step today

Program Details

School Details

The University of South Carolina is a public, four-year institution of higher education, with multiple campus locations throughout the state of South Carolina. USC was founded in 1801 as South Carolina College. The institution began in one building in the capitol city of Columbia. The campus expanded around that first building into a modified quadrangle called the “Horseshoe." In the post-Civil War Reconstruction Era of the late 19th Century, the University of South Carolina became one of the first Southern institutions of higher learning to admit and grant degrees to African-Americans. Because of the wariness of the post-War South, the institution was forced to close until 1880. When it reopened, it only admitted white students and focused its programs on agricultural studies. In 1963, the school re-integrated by enrolling three African American students. In the 1950s the University started to expand throughout the state of South Carolina.

The colleges and schools that make up the University of South Carolina include:

  • Arts and Sciences
  • Business
  • Education
  • Engineering and Computing
  • The Graduate School
  • Hospitality, Retail and Sport Management
  • Information and Communications
  • Law
  • Medicine (Columbia)
  • Medicine (Greenville)
  • Music
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy
  • Public Health
  • Social Work
  • South Carolina Honors College

In addition to traditional degrees and academic programs, the University of South Carolina also offers online bachelor’s degrees, graduate degrees, and individual courses through its Palmetto College. The delivery methods for online education through the University of South Carolina is determined by the instructor, which can include recorded video and forum interaction.

Accreditation & Licensing

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges

All Programs