Find out more about University of Northern Colorado

Take the first step today

Program Details

School Details

In 1889, the governor of Colorado signed the bill creating the State Normal School to train qualified teachers for the state's public schools. In 1911 the school's name was changed to Colorado State Teachers College by the state legislature. The college was then offering four years of undergraduate work and granting the Bachelor of Arts degree. Over the years, the name changed each time programs were added, resulting in the name of University of Northern Colorado in 1970. UNC is a comprehensive baccalaureate and public doctoral research university that fuses its history for innovative teaching with transformative, hands-on education through programs across six colleges:

  • Education and Behavioral Sciences
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Monfort College of Business
  • Natural and Health Sciences
  • Performing and Visual Arts
  • University College

Many programs are available in both on-campus and online formats.

Accreditation & Licensing

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, The Higher Learning Commission

All Programs