University, MS

School Details

When it chartered the University of Mississippi in 1844, the Mississippi Legislature laid the foundation for public higher education in the state. The university opened its doors to 80 students four years later, and for 23 years was Mississippi's only public institution of higher learning. For 110 years, it was the state's only comprehensive university. Ole Miss is the state's largest university and is ranked among the nation's fastest-growing institutions, renowned for a blend of academic rigor, experiential learning and opportunities for community action.

Ole Miss offers a full range of undergraduate and graduate degrees and certificates from the following academic divisions: 

  • College of Liberal Arts
  • General Studies
  • School of Accountancy
  • School of Applied Sciences
  • School of Business Administration
  • School of Dentistry
  • School of Education
  • School of Engineering
  • School of Health Related Professions
  • School of Journalism & New Media
  • School of Law
  • School of Medicine
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Pharmacy
  • Graduate School
  • Health Sciences Graduate School
  • Honors College

Ole Miss Online offers hundreds of courses online, as well as online master’s degree and certificate programs.

Accreditation & Licensing

University of Mississippi is accredited by:

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

Check Program Availability